A window seat view

mums horses

Staying at my Mum’s whilst she is poorly to look after her.  Just wanted to show you the view from her window.  Very calming in my opinion.

Do you have a nice view?

About desperateramblings

Desperate ramblings because I'm desperate to learn how to do all this blog stuff and ramblings cos due to ill health I tend to ramble on even more than usual! I really hope you will glance, read and/or enjoy my words and I very much look forward to viewing yours in return. **UPDATE Feb '15** Thank you for all my new followers, gobsmacked tbh! Look forward to daily when possible, blogging, checking out all my favourites and meeting new fellow bloggers.
This entry was posted in blog, blogger, daily, freshly pressed, General, happiness, Life, Reader and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to A window seat view

  1. mike7sedona says:

    Certainly calm and relaxing! With such a serene setting, Mum ought to pick up real soon. Thanks for the peaceful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Raymond says:

    I like the view 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Julia Manuel says:

    Lovely view…very calming indeed ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  4. crazyruthie says:

    That’s a fantastic view. I sit next to a window on the second floor of my house. I can see everything going on in the neighborhood. I can see the sky, sometimes I see the dawn I can see the sky and watch the weather. I love my view!

    Like

    • Hey there and thanks, yes it is nice isn’t it. Apart from wildlife, I love people watching ts way better than tv these days. Also love weather watching. Staring at the sky can easily pass a lot of time with great pleasure.

      Liked by 3 people

      • crazyruthie says:

        Hi! The sky is never dull! I am glad to have my window. I like to watch people walk their dogs.

        How’s your mum doing?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree, along with the sea and an open fire. I can get ‘lost’ for hours and hours staring at any of these. Mum is slowly picking up now the meds are kicking in. Thank you so much of asking.

        Liked by 2 people

      • crazyruthie says:

        oh yes, i hadn’t thought of a fire, but that’s really true. you’re making me want to go to the beach and have a bonfire!

        i’m really glad to hear that! you’re most welcome! having a loved one be ill is incredibly stressful, i know. best of luck to her!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well yeah, if we go to the beach, look up to the sky, feel and smell the sea and maybe take a barbecue, we should be set up for quite a while, what do you reckon? My mums meds are kicking in so she’s on the way to being better, thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        yes, let’s move to the beach! you’ve reminded me of a good beach story. maybe i’ll blog about it!

        i think i’d prefer a warm beach rather than the ones near us! not boiling hot, but warm. we could roast weenies over the fire. i think i could stay on that beach for a year or two! lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yes total agreement as usual crazyruthie, a warm beach anywhere would do me right now. Not sure what weenies are but I think if we had a fire it would be jacket spuds or maybe some freshly caught fish.

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        We should travel the beaches of the world! A weenie is a hot dog, basically a sausage. We we have bonfires, we put weenies on a stick and hold them over the fire. Nobody calls them weenies anymore, but my gramma did, so I like it. 🙂 fresh fish cooked over a fire is so good! My grampa and I went fishing on a lake near their house. When we got home gramma cooked them and we ate them for breakfast!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh ok, over hear its more common for people to put a marshmallow on a stick but thats usually in front of a roaring open fire I believe. Good to carry on traditions from our loved relatives, I do with certain daft things my Dad used to do and it makes me feel good. The fishing trip sounds like great fun and good on your gramma to cook em up for you. Happy times 🙂 I think we should try to remember more of these sorts of times don’t you? Mind you I can be excused for a minute as I have very bad memory issues right now! lol x

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        🙂 I love to hear my dad tell stories about the family. Happy times indeed! Those memories get pushed aside a lot of the time.

        We do marshmallows, too. 🙂

        My dad had all kinds of crazy old sayings. If he stubbed his toe or something he’d say, “christ on a crutch!” LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ha ha love it crazyruthie. One of my Dad’s crazy things was that you could only cut your nails on certain days of the week! I have no idea why but it used to cause quite a laugh at ours.

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Haha! That’s a strange one! My dad plans the whole weeks meals before going to the shops. He decides what meal goes on what day. We had to stick to the menu if we wanted that meal or not. Lol!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Mmm not such a fan of that one. Very practical but too predictable for me. Mind you I go from some weeks having loads of ideas for tea and other weeks i can’t think of anything that inspires me much to want to eat it! I think the latter weeks are usually if my body decides to flare up or not tbh. Being at my mums though I have had a break from that but I am missing home. Should only be another night or two I think as Mum has picked up well this afternoon 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I hated the menu thing! Who can decide what they want to eat a week in advance?? And it’s painfully uptight!

        My husband does the shopping and cooking, so he just makes yummy food that I eat!

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Yay for mum! I don’t like staying away from home very long, either.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes its good for her. Hoping for big improvement tomorrow but probably won’t be going home tip weekend I suspect. But then she looked after me without question so she deserves this now. It is great when you have a home that you love and want to be in isn’t it. It was a long road to get there!

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Going home is the best feeling! She’s lucky to have you and vice versa!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes that 50 miles just melts away as I drive into the sun (hopefully if its not dull and dreary like today).

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        ahhhh…..the drive home! i’ll cross my fingers that you get sun!

        Liked by 1 person

      • You know what crazyruthie, I won’t care if the clouds are as black as your hat, I will be heading the right way 🙂 Thank you

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        That’s a great saying… As black as your hat! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wondered if you would like it! lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Great cos that is my very own saying, varied from another one that says as black as the hills. Mines much cooler I think! lol x

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I agree! For a moment there I wondered if I was wearing a hat on my avatar! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh heck thats good missus, really good. Im going to bed real soon as struggling keep my eyes open and have not got my lidocaine patch on yet as totally been on here. Had a cold bottle of beer for company though 🙂 have not had one for ages so it made a nice change. People say Im weird cos I only like it when it is flat. Don’t understand why, if its not flat it makes me burp so I choose flat 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Flat beer! I can see how that it might be nice. At least it’s cold! How do you get it flat on purpose? Open it ahead of time? Even with all the drugs I take, sometimes I’d love a few pints.

        Lidocaine patch? I’ve had lidocaine when I get injections in my knees. It hurts like hell, she sprays it on til it’s running down my leg. I assume that it’s not so intense? I sure am numb til the next day!

        I like burping! Lol that’s what diet Coke is for!

        I have my first session oh physical therapy this afternoon. Eep!

        Like

      • I don’t often drink beer anymore due to my meds but occasionally it is nice to have one or two. I just open the bottle and leave in fridge for as long as possible before drinking and the longer its left the flatter it goes but last nights was still pretty fizzy!
        The patch is just like what you say you have but in a milder form just 5%. Its to numb the left side of my face which means I can sleep better as when its bad I can’t even touch it. Lasts 12 hrs.

        Burping is ok as long as not to offend people if you know what I mean? A short one seems acceptable to people but a full on mouth open gut lifting bluuuuuuuurp can be a bit off putting I think what about you? If its just me and steve of course thats fine.

        Can I ask what the therapy entails then and how is it suppose to help? Also knees? Sorry but don’t know what you health issues are. You don’t have to say of course, it wouldn’t bother me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I am able to say no to alcohol because of my meds, and because I’m diabetic. I can be mighty tempted, tho.

        I’m not sure of your health problems either! You said you couldn’t eat raw apples and because of what you said about the patch, that I’m guess you have jaw problems.??

        My knees have really bad arthritis. I have trouble walking sometimes and sometimes I’m stuck in bed with pain pills and ice packs. I’m going to blog about the therapy, so you’ll know more soon. 🙂 I have no trouble talking about my physical ailments. They and their treatments take up almost all of my days. Sometimes I talk about them too much, but it is the center of my life.

        Oh yes, burping at home is wild! Lol you can really let go! If I forget and do it loud in public situations I turn bright red!

        Like

      • Hey missus, eyelids shutting as I type. Mums all settled for now at least so good night my new crazy friend. I hope we are and I hope we chat again tomorrow. Take care and a hug winging its way 🙂 Cheers from me zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz x

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Good morning! I slept a little late. Yay! Do you have a name I can call you by? Did you sleep well? 🙂

        Like

      • Hey there crazyruthie Good to sleep how your body wants I reckon. Does it matter really?! Of course, you can call me Annie 🙂 I slept quite good but tried to have one ear out for Mother but when I am properly asleep, I can sleep through virtually anything. Thanks for coming back! Tis is just a quick visit as Mum had to go into hospital this afternoon so its all been bit stress and Im not long back so am knackered once more fcs!

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Oh no! That’s really horrible I hope you didn’t have to wait for a very long! Did she get to come back home?

        Annie is a great name, sounds like the name of a jolly little fairy. 🙂

        I hope you can chill enough to sleep.

        Good to hear from you again! ❤

        Like

      • Hey, I waited up a bit longer to see if you were there! How u doing?
        Yes bad about Mum but no there was no waiting as she was taken in by ambulance. She has been scanned and x-rayed tonight and it all sounds like they can sort it. She is in overnight but don’t know more until tomoro now. She is just happy to be where they can sort her out after being so poorly for couple of weeks.
        Hey love your description of my name. Well I am jolly, I am little and a fairy…..? maybe not but I do have powers!!
        x x x

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I’m not too bad. The physical therapy hurt like a bitch but I got to take a pain pill when I came home!

        That was so nice for you to check in!

        I know it feels really good to be somewhere that can take excellent care for her.

        I bet you’re a little fairy deep inside! Powers, eh? You’ll have to tell me about that sometime! Sweet dreams, my dear!

        Like

      • Oh heck, hope the pill worked fast. Just up now and feeling lot brighter this morning which is good as I have a lot of stuff to do so probably not get much out today and that. Mum still not allowed food and she says she is starving! poor her but scan today so we are all crossed fingers its nothing nasty 😦
        Yeah I am but not that deep ha ha. Powers was only a wee joke missus lol but then…..just maybe eh? We all have powers if we look deep enough into our soul 🙂

        Like

      • crazyruthie says:

        the painkiller worked well. i make sure i have an empty stomach when i take them, they work so much better that way. . i was very glad to have it.

        yay for feeling brighter! poor mum, it sucks to not be able to eat! is she allowed clear liquids? one of the most horrible part of surgery is not being able to drink anything for more than 12 hours! i have terrible dry mouth and a bad thirst. what kind of scan is she having? a CT scan? i don’t think you have to not eat for an MRI. hope that gives you some answers!

        i bet you do have powers! you have the power to be cool and make friends! that’s an important power! hehe i bet you make a good cup of tea, too! 🙂

        you’re right, i bet everyone has something! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hey crazyruthie. Sorry I didn’t get back to you yesterday but Mum was taken to hospital as you know and it has been found she has a tumour and has been diagnosed with cervical/ovarian cancer. They are not sure yet how far it has spread and need to do many more tests to establish a treatment plan whatever that may entail. As you can imagine we were pretty dumbstruck as we were not expecting this. Bad day yesterday 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I’m so sorry. That’s about the worst diagnosis there is. Best of luck on the treatment. ❤ :/

        Like

      • Thank you crazyruthie, much appreciated. Just going in to see her 😦 BUT doing my best to practice what I preach and be positive! Hope you ok and be back to chatting tomorrow probably. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I hope things are a little brighter today. Yes yes, stay positive, if you can. Hugs!

        Like

      • Had a crap restless night but yes, we will find out much more this week and be better informed. Hug back and cheers m’dear. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Crappy sleep can ruin a day! Meh. Knowing more sets expectations and will probably make you feel less scared. ❤

        Like

      • Indeed crazyruthie. Had better night last night and she is feeling a lot better this morning.

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Oh good, good sleep will make you strong. I’m glad she’s feeling better today. It’s really going to be something you focus one day at a time. Do you know how long they plan to keep her in hospital? Is your brother there? ❤

        Like

      • Yay crazyruthie 🙂 🙂 Yes one day at a time. Just back from hospital and she was not quite so ‘up’ today but thats how it goes. Quite a bit of trepidation with what the week will bring as we should know a lot more, how extensive etc, so even Im feeling like that but am chilling now doing this then nice evening just with my lovely partner. Yes my brother is staying at Mums till Tuesday and then when he goes back I think his wife is coming down. No idea just yet how long she will be in for initially but our situation over here for hospital beds is dreadful and they kick people out way early a lot of the time, but thats another subject!

        Like

      • crazyruthie says:

        You must be so stressed, all the waiting and uncertainty!

        Do you like your sister in law?
        🙂

        Like

      • Hey crazyruthie 🙂 I did crumble for the first time this morning as she is supposed to be having biopsy to day and I/we all want to but don’t want to know results from that if you know what I mean. I have since calmed myself, look like shit with puffy red eyes and am preparing myself to go in to her for 2pm. She doesn’t need me to show Im down, she needs cheeriness as much as possible.
        Mmmmm my sister in law ~ well theres a question! Like is a strong word! We have not had the best relationship over the years but she does treat my Mum very well and thoughtfully. She has our best interests at heart we are sure BUT she comes from such a completely different up bringing to me. She is a career woman, an achiever and has always known what she wanted to do etc. She comes across very harsh BUT in recent times she really has redeemed herself to me especially so although my brother and her are on completely different planets to my partner and I, we can get along when necessary and things don’t go too deep! How are things with you though missus?

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        oh dear! i was hoping you were ok, thinking i hadn’t heard from you and here is this message i missed entirely. it might even be from yesterday!

        it’s tough stuff, you’re allowed to fall apart! you’re probably right, a good idea to keep a smiling face for her benefit. you can pour all your sorrows out to your partner (i’m sorry, did i forget? is his name steve?). is he very supportive? i hope so! how did today go? any news about her condition?

        your sister in law doesn’t sound like someone i’d get along with too well, either. it’s great when you find out someone like that can do thing that make you respect them.

        i hope you’re doing ok!

        i had physical therapy today. it sucked. hurt really bad. even the pain pill didn’t help much. i went out and got mackie’s new licence. he’s legal again. hehe don’t want an illegal puppeh!

        i took myself out for coffee. i was proud of myself that i was able to get out and go three different places in one day! i was also pleased with myself because i didn’t get a treat at starbuck’s. i’m trying so hard to get my diabetes under control.

        talk to you tomorrow! ❤

        Like

      • Morning missus, sorry to hear your therapy was crap for you again. What good is it actually doing crazyruthie? Do you have it every week? Do you have to do it?
        Well done re going out for coffee and that ~ I know how good an ‘achievement’ like that can feel for sure. Also congrats no Starbucks. Diabetes sucks so I hear. I have a couple of close relatives who have it and they both struggle daily it has to be said.
        Not sure if I told you but mums biopsy was put off until today, so its a big day really as they have the meeting afterwards to look at what potential ‘treatment’ options are available to her. Whereas the day before yesterday she was in great spirits and things were bright, when I arrived yesterday she was back to the very poorly old soul lying in that bed again. Apparently she had been very sick. She remained very tired 😦 Today and tomorrow we should be a lot better informed.
        Didn’t get my challenge thing out yesterday so will do best to get something out soon if I can but I may be rushing in to be with mum when she wakes up. All over the place really so have no ice of whats happening and I song like not having some sort of plan if you understand what I mean.
        Hope your day is good and thanks for reply crazyruthie.

        Like

      • Just had a text from her and she is much brighter this morning, thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        I’ll be here, we can have a chat when you’re up to it!

        Like

      • Means a lot crazyruthie, thank you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Of course! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • x 🙂 x thank you yet again x

        Like

      • Nite nite crazyruthie, have to sleep now “) warmth, hugs and wishes for good stuff coming your way 🙂 zzzzz x

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        Right back atcha! Talk to you tomorrow!

        Like

      • Agree with everything you saying about yr pain and sometimes talking too much about it but yes it does totally take over when its bad doesn’t it. I have bad arthritis in my thumbs/hands/wrists and neck but am also dealing with Trigeminal Nueralgia and some memory issues along with not being able to do what I used to do. My work will not have me back due to the memory issues and it has been agreed that an application for early retirement on the grounds of ill health is made. So thats been quite a journey and in many ways my future starts once I get that decision! Scary but just have to deal with it. I’m trying to look at it as a new start and a chance for me to maybe follow my dreams and earn money maybe through writing, commenting, reviewing and/or some of my craft ideas that I am able to do. Bad stuff re money to live on tough 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • crazyruthie says:

        i looked up TN. sounds awful! what a horrible disorder. hugs from me! how severe is it? what triggers it?

        oh god, arthritis is a bitch. i’m sorry to hear that you have to deal with that in addition to the TN! pain really swallows you up sometimes.

        what was your career like before you got this?

        good attitude! who knows what good things my come of it!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Get back to you soon crazyruthie 🙂 Thanks for the hugs x

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.