Happy Birthday Mum

Well thought out birthday presents are hard ordinarily but when the recipient has reached the grand age of 84yrs, just like my Mum, it becomes harder and harder to think of a gift that she will really love.  So here are the two gifts we have made.

Mums house plate Feb '15 This is my first effort at engraving on slate.  The number went horribly wrong but I don’t think she will mind and its all a self taught learning curve for me!

THE bowl 1 ~ Feb '15  THE bowl 2 ~ Feb '15 This is a bowl made of Yew and brilliantly turned by my partner.  I absolutely adore this, it is so tactile and simply beautiful to look at.

So, they are our efforts.  If you read my blog regularly you will be aware that I now have no wages coming in which is one of the reasons I decided to hand make something that I hope she will appreciate even if only for the fact that it was made with love for her.  They say its the thought that counts after all!

Oops, nearly forgot ~ had to make her a birthday cake too.  Ginger madeira cake with lemon curd filling! Yes I know, to me that sounds totally yuk BUT it is one of her favourite combinations!

Mums bday cake '15 Not finished yet, going to jazz it up with a bit of wrap, icing sugar and of course a birthday candle!

I would love to hear your comments, opinions on my offerings please ~ go on………..you know you want to!!!!

About desperateramblings

Desperate ramblings because I'm desperate to learn how to do all this blog stuff and ramblings cos due to ill health I tend to ramble on even more than usual! I really hope you will glance, read and/or enjoy my words and I very much look forward to viewing yours in return. **UPDATE Feb '15** Thank you for all my new followers, gobsmacked tbh! Look forward to daily when possible, blogging, checking out all my favourites and meeting new fellow bloggers.
This entry was posted in blog, cooking, food, General, happiness, Life, love, thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday Mum

  1. painkills2 says:

    What was the “epic fail with the ginger flavouring”?

    Like

    • I used some fairly old ginger spice as I did not have any fresh ginger or crystallised at home. I thought I had put loads in but on tasting it, clearly I had not as if I hadn’t said it was ginger, you wouldn’t have known x ha ha x remember for next time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. pixie says:

    The bowl is beautiful – it must be so nice to touch. The cake looks delicious too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. painkills2 says:

    Love the color on the first one, and the bowl is really quite lovely. Since the cake sounds rather yucky, what kind of cookies are those?

    Like

    • Ah thank you very much indeed. Having now delivered the gifts, it seems lemon & ginger are quite a known and liked combination! The cookies are milk & white chocolate chip cookies and they tasted lovely even if I do say so myself 🙂 Mum loved the gifts so all went well. Cheers for the comment and look forward to ‘chat’ again real soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.