Netgear N300 WiFi Range Extender (Model WN3000RPv3)

All excited yesterday as this little beauty (I thought) was available to reserve and collect at my local Argos store.  I live in quite a long bungalow and our router is in the lounge at one end of the property and my newly created office is at the other.  I could simply not get any internet connection and it is vital that I have my Mac working down there for obvious reasons.

So, I did a bit of research and decided this was the one that fitted the bill for me on all fronts, price, ease of use and installation (thats what Im coming to!) and the fact that I could go and get it instantly.  Anyhow last night my partner and I had a go and setting up but fell short at the 2nd hurdle.  Yes we managed to plug it in and yes we managed to get the green on light BUT the it all went wrong.  The enclosed book states there are two ways to set it up but gives no reasoning as in why one way would be better than the other or pro’s / con’s etc. If anyone can suggest such things please let me know I would be most grateful!! Then you have to pick ‘Connect with WPS or Connect with web browser setup.

We went for the first option but our router does not seem to have the necessary WPS button so we could not go any further.  So we tried the second option which said to use a WiFi network manager on computer or WiFi device to find and connect to the Netgear-EXT (SSID) WiFi network and then continued with further instructions after the connection……….. I tried but nothing happened when I did it?

We are not stupid and can get ourselves around most standard technology but this has me in particular stumped and very frustrated too!  If you can help please let me know?  Alternatively I hope to be back later typing from my ‘office’!  Never say never 🙂Netgear extender

About desperateramblings

Desperate ramblings because I'm desperate to learn how to do all this blog stuff and ramblings cos due to ill health I tend to ramble on even more than usual! I really hope you will glance, read and/or enjoy my words and I very much look forward to viewing yours in return. **UPDATE Feb '15** Thank you for all my new followers, gobsmacked tbh! Look forward to daily when possible, blogging, checking out all my favourites and meeting new fellow bloggers.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Netgear N300 WiFi Range Extender (Model WN3000RPv3)

  1. sheldonk2014 says:

    If there is one thing that frustrates me is technology,I have had to teach myself everything I know
    You will loose your mind listening to or reading of
    My email us still not working rite
    I hate this whole thing of giving up control to a device
    It a company who makes the rules as they go along
    Gvd how this frustrate me
    As always Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.